Broken Dew Claw Nail

Broken Dew Claw Nail

Finding The Problem
What a day it had been.
My poor pup. Jerking away in midst of play, with a yelp.
When I put her coat on and when I groomed her.
I had no idea..
Starting at the shoulder, I worked my way down.
Nothing.
I gently touched each of her tiny toes and nothing.
It wasn’t until she lay flat out on her back for her belly rub,
scratch under her small arms and up her legs,
did I find what her problem was.
My Poor Little Baby.
Her dew claw nail was broken off, right at the quick but
still attached.

Remedy
I carried her out for potty and stopped at the car for our
first aid kit.
Once back inside, I added a small amount of Epsom Salts
to a bowl of warm water.
I had her soak her paw in the bowl of water for about five minutes.
The blood from her broken toe nail had dried and her hair was
all messed up and sticking to her nail.
Once we got her all cleaned up,  I was able to take a better look.
I thought of what I would feel like if that were me.
I didn’t want to cut the nail off as it would need to be cut into the quick.
That would hurt even more.

I had her sit quietly while I moved as much hair away as I could,
applied a dab of neosporin with a Q-Tip

then wrapped gauze around her paw,
holding her nail in the place it would normally be.

I gently taped up the gauze and finished off with wrapping a white
ribbon around the whole bandage.
She was so happy.

She stood up and began licking me like mad.
It must of felt so much better.

Consulting Vet
Prior to finding the problem myself, I had called the vet ..
I noticed she was favoring her paw but could not find any sore spots
when examining her.
My little Yorkie is very hairy, especially on her legs and paws.
The vet told me I would have to come in for X-Rays.
I am glad I held off for a bit.

I was concerned for my pup.
If she is in pain, so am I.

Well with her new bandage she was able to resume playing without jerking and
yelping periodically.

Friends with Benefits
I contacted a vet assistant friend. I was told to change the bandage every two
days.
That eventually the nail will grown out and fall off.
Eight days later, sure enough. No more nail and one healed puppy!

Since then, my Roxy has broken her dew claw nails twice more.
Each one last summer on different occasions and this past summer again.
Last time she was chasing dragon flys on a dock. The times before that she was just playing hard.

Running like mad and just
being her goofy self during play time.
A very active pup.

This past summer when she was bandaged from her last broken dew claw nail, she had to go in for her shots.
In talking with the vet about it, he claimed that he never seen front dew claw
nails break but back ones.
Well my pup doesn’t have back dew claws.
She only has the two at the front.

Family and friends suggest I have them removed so I brought this up with the
vet.
He concluded to not do anything but take the wait and see approach.
That, Perhaps I am having a streak of bad luck.
That suits me fine as I am so not wanting to put my pup through that.

It wasn’t more than a week later I ran into a friend at the dog park with her five dogs.
Her small Yorkie mix was limping, off and on.
She told me that her nail was broken and yes, it was one of her fronts.

I told her what I did, adding how much of a difference it made for my pup.
She was so happy.
The last two times, my girl knew what the routine was.

She’s Becoming A Real Pro At This!

Since it rained an awful lot, we just changed her bandage as needed.
As well as the ribbon around her paw.
The ribbon is simply cosmetics and is optional.

I can not thank my vet assistant friend enough as without her advice,
I probably would of fussed over my pup far more than necessary.

This way, I fixed her up within minutes and her routine went on as normal.
One thing we did do different for the first four days was that I carried her
down stairs and back up again.

Until Next Time,
Happy Tails!

broken dew claw nail

Mama Fixed My Sore Paw

November 7, 2009. Tags: , . First Aid.

22 Comments

  1. Shae replied:

    This info is specific and helpful at a time when I need the right ‘how to’ to help my god alleviate his immediate distress. I have all first aid items and we’ll be putting our chi-terrier on the road to recovery this afternoon. Thanks so much. I will keep an eye on his condition should he need to go to our vet. Thanks so much for all the detailed info.

  2. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Shae, You are most welcome and glad we could be of help.
    How old is your dog and was is a front or rear dew claw?
    I have talked, in length with Roxy’s vet about this ongoing problem. If you have any questions, fire away. I can relay any info I have since learned.
    I find Roxy has this problem mostly in the summer time when she is far more active. We can hopefully avoid further problems by being careful where allowing her to do her Olympic sprint and chasing dragon flies on the cedar dock. Best to you and you chi-terrier.

  3. Kayla replied:

    thanks this was helpful.

  4. Beth replied:

    Thank you so much! Everything else I read on this topic just berated me for not taking my dog to the vet to have it surgically removed. I was hoping that bandaging it would be an option, and now I’m going to try it for my itty bitty rat terrier.

  5. effectivedoghandling replied:

    You are most welcome Beth, thank you for stopping by. I talked to our vet about whether or not we should remove my dogs frontal dew claws. It is such a deep surgery, must be a painful one at that. It was recommended to take the wait and see approach as I could of been just running a line of bad luck. Seems every summer my dogs breaks her dew claw nails. She lets me know she hurts, I disinfect and bandage so to support her wobbly broken nail from moving so she can still carry on with normal activity as well as I do try to limit her activity to a point. No more chasing deer out of the hay fields! Nor chasing dragon flies on the lake wharf.
    For whatever reason, she can even break a nail from running in the park, chasing her chew toy. I don’t stop her from running playing though.
    Bottom line is we are not going to have her dew claws removed. That approach just seems so extreme when really we can simply limit the overly active activity as well as keep the nails maintained. Glad the article gave you an option. Going to the vet for a broken dew claw nail seems idiotic, mind you if it is bleeding and doesn’t appear that it is going to stop, the vet would be my first plan of action.

  6. effectivedoghandling replied:

    You are most Welcome Kayla, thanks for stopping by!

  7. Laura replied:

    Mahalo for this posting. Our little Boston Terrier, Lily, has a broken FRONT dew claw. We heard no yelp, saw no limp, we only found her sleeping under the table as usual at night. Except there was blood all over the carpet. Need to say, we freaked out. Our poor baby! We looked all over her and saw nothing, just like you said. The next morning, she wanted to play ball like usual. One throw of the ball is all it took. We heard her yelp, and she came limping back with her sore paw up in the air. There it was. Sticking out at some bizarre angle from her front leg. Owie! I too tried to imagine what that might feel like if it were me. We soaked her paw to clean away the dried blood, dabbed neosporin on it, and lightly wrapped it in a white athletic tape to support it like a sprained ankle. Lily then wanted to be held and licked both of us as if to say Thank You. Within 15 minutes she was back to playing ball. We’ve been changing her tape every other day. She still licks at it, even with the tape on. It’s still sore. And, I can’t wait for her broken little dew claw to grow out and for her pain to be over. Having her in pain just kills me.

    Anyways, thanks so much for the post. It appears my hubby and I have done “all the right things” for our baby.

    Laura (in Hawaii)

  8. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Hello Laura; Re: “Broken front dew claw” – Nail, I hope.
    Sometimes the dog can actually tear the dew claw itself, (the skin).
    I am assuming you mean the nail itself.

    NOTE: IF ever one finds that their dog has torn the skin between the dew claw and the paw, do not hesitate to take the dog to the vet.
    Likely the dog will require a suture or two.

    I know exactly what you mean about “pain just kills me”. I as well. Do not want my dog to be uncomfortable in any way.
    Sounds like you have done the right things.

    Know that the idea of bandaging the paw is to set the nail (with your fingers) to where it would normally sit, when the dog is in a resting position.
    Then wrap it and tape it. Gently. Keeping the bandage snug enough (not tight) so that the bandage won’t slip off or slide down.

    Lol, I always find a nice ribbon to tie over the bandage afterward.
    One is for the cuteness factor but two is that if it is wet out, this way the added ribbon helps keep the bandage dry.
    If the bandage does get wet, I will redo it, immediately.

    Every two days is recommended for changing the bandage.
    I always reapply a touch of neosporin at these times as well.

    After eight days, where the nail broke, should just fall off.
    If it doesn’t and is still attached, use your discretion when checking the grow out factor.
    If it has grown out enough, just clip it off with either nail clippers (made for humans)
    or you dogs nail clippers.

    My dog already had her first dew claw nail break for this season, Summer 2011.
    I think it is really important to keep the dog’s nails maintained.
    Keep them clipped regularly and not forget the dew claw nails.
    I find that this helps but none the less, my dog seems to always get a broken nail at this time of year.
    I believe it is due to heightened activity. More racing around.
    This time it happened when she was chasing a crow out of her yard!

    The fact that your dog gave kisses afterward is so precious.
    My dog did too when I first had to take care of this
    – at the point of this initial blog post.
    My dog was so happy.
    The kisses of her gratitude left me feeling so good
    that I was able to help her and that she really appreciated it.
    I did however, limit her activity somewhat until about the fourth day.
    No racing around like she does otherwise.

    After the fourth day she could play a bit of fetch but no racing.
    This was to avoid any re-injury to the already bad nail.

    Avoiding any more bleeding was paramount.
    Usually after the initial break causing some bleeding,
    there usually isn’t any more blood however, there was once when
    I went to change her bandage after the first two days and there was a bit more blood.
    This prompted me to do a bandage change everyday until no more blood.
    There wasn’t enough to require a visit to the vet however,
    if there is more blood after the paw is first bandaged, or
    after the first day and is more than just a few spots,
    I would recommend taking them to the vet immediately.
    Too much loss of blood is never a good thing.

    It sounded like your dog lost a lot of blood IE: Blood all over the carpet.
    This concerned me.
    My dog has never had that much blood at all.
    Make sure you double check the skin between the dogs dew claw and the paw itself.
    How is the bandage at the first change?
    Feel free to comment.

    I came to realize the spots of blood were due to too much activity too soon.
    As when we first bandaged it, the nail was not bleeding anymore.
    So this is why I recommend limiting activity somewhat, in the first several days.

    Once no more spots of blood are showing on the bandage (no more than two days)
    Then back to every two days. Like I said, usually for eight days.
    Bleeding is something I want to avoid at all costs.
    If after two days there are still spots of blood on the bandage at change time, I would be thinking about heading to the vet.
    In my opinion this shouldn’t be, especially if activity is being limited.

    All the Best and thank you for stopping by and commenting!

  9. Debbie replied:

    Thank you so much for this info and piece of mind!

    I came home the other day from dropping my dh off at work to find my floors and carpet covered in spots of blood. I panicked not knowing what happened.

    I quickly rushed over to my older pug Daisy and checked her paws. Nothing. Then my other little pug Peanut and sure enough found that her dew claw was askew and bleeding. My heart broke. I felt terrible, almost like a bad mother although there was nothing I could have done to prevent this. It was our first break ever. Hopefully our last.

    I immediately gently washed the area and applied Neo to it and after many treats she finally allowed me to bandage it up. Her paw is still very tender and she is still limping on it after two days. I change the bandage every day and re-apply the neo and it looks much better. Im hoping a few more days and she will be able to walk without the limp. It’s just nice to know I’m not alone lol

    Both my pugs also only have the two front dew claws. (thank goodness!)
    I will keep you posted on Peanuts recovery!

    Debbie (in Canada)

  10. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Hi Debbie & Fellow Canuck;

    Good to hear that you were able to find some piece of mind!

    NOTE: Best to bandage after applying Neo so to Not Allow the pet to lick it.
    Do Not Let Peanut lick the neo!

    Bandage needs to be changed only every two days.
    Unless of course it gets soaking wet from being outside when the weather is damp.

    It would likely take more like four days before Peanut isn’t limping and if Peanut is still limping, right after you first bandage it
    then the bandage isn’t on right.
    The point of the bandage Debbie, is to hold the nail in place of where it would be naturally.
    If the dog is limping still, right after you bandage it, then the nail is not being properly supported under the bandage.

    Where is that video when I need it? I have made a couple Videos, showing how I bandage and the point behind it.
    Such a perfectionist, I haven’t go them loaded.
    I will work on this.

    I apologize for not responding earlier but you want to very gently hold the nail where it would normally be, when wrapping it up, gently.
    Keeping a hold of it’s placement all while wrapping and then tapping.
    This is most important as is the whole point of bandaging the paw. For support.

    Once the paw is bandaged, the dog should not be limping.
    Limiting activity is necessary however. No normal running, chasing balls etc.
    I was so hurt seeing my girl in pain the first time, I even carried her down the stairs to go outside for potty.
    I still do for the first few days and definitely No Jumping up and down off of furniture!

    Usually it takes eight days for the nail to grown out and fall off naturally or grown out enough that it can be carefully snipped off.

    Rest assured Debbie, you are not alone and I so know what you mean!
    I was petrified when this first happened to Roxy.
    I called the vet who said to bring her in for x-rays etc. Good Grief!
    Once I realized it was a broken nail, I just thought of myself and what I would feel like and then what I would do.
    I got online, started researching and asking a bunch of questions.
    I least expected to get the answers I was looking for from the place that I did but thankfully a Vet Tech came to my rescue.
    Stating that she sees this often and assuring me that my Furbaby was going to be alright, that I did everything right.

    I find even using a bowl of warm water with Epsons Salts dissolved first and then applied with a cue tip is helpful. For a small paw, the cue tip helps to get right in there, gently.
    How is Peanut doing now? Should be almost ready to fall off .. Or be carefully snipped off if it has grown out enough.
    Just use normal human nail clippers if you do not have a pair of animal nail clippers.

    I like to figure out why it happened when it does so to try my best to prevent it.
    Since you were out and came home to this, I would doubt that peanut was possibly on the couch or a chair and broke the nail when Peanut jumped off.

    Or sometimes, depending on what type of carpeting there is, the nail can get caught.
    Especially if the pile is the looped kind, if you know what I mean.

    If you think that jumping off a piece of furniture could of been the cause, invest in some stairs.
    Or make some out of foam or wood and cover with fabric/carpeting.

    For little ones, who are allowed on the furniture, this is most important so to save on their joints never mind nails.
    Small dogs jumping off furniture may not show any signs of injury but over time, I feel that this could be a cause of problems in their joints.
    Especially ones that are prone to these sort of problems to begin with such as Yorkies.
    Sorry, I do not know much about Pugs except that they are Roxy’s favorite Pals.

    From reading my responses below, there is likely nothing else I can add at this point.
    Time has to take it’s course.

    My Roxy has only her front dew claws as well.
    Removal is not going to be an option as I will not put her through such in depth surgery.
    She is four now.
    There will be no surprise should she come to me with a soar toe again.
    Seems every summer she get a broken dew claw nail.
    I reckon due to increased activity as during the winter months this never happens.
    NOTE: Even right after a nail clipping, it has occurred so is not necessarily because the nails are needing a clipping before it happens either!
    I feel that the nail gets broken because of the way she accidentally lands on it during impact when running.
    Makes sense?
    I have since ceased allowing her to chase deer out of the hay fields.
    She is much too small to go flying through the fresh cut field.
    Whats left of the straws of hay are sharp.
    Wouldn’t want a puncture either.

    Best to You Debbie and Little Peanut!
    Do let me know how the recovery is going.

    Sincerely,
    CC

  11. goldenhr replied:

    Thank you for writing and keeping up to date this invaluable resource information !

    Merlin’s front dewclaw was injured yesterday. It bent at a 90 degree angle. The claw is cracked but the whole thing is still in place. Some blood initially. I work with homeopathy so i immediately gave him the correct remedy which i believed helped him with the nerve pain. I kept an eye on it and let him rest through the night.

    The next morning, some 12 hrs later- the dewclaw seemed to have bent back somewhat. I applied neosporin and put a thin bandage around it. He didnt keep it on long at all but it was a good start for this tricky to manage dog. We are now going to switch from neosporin to an alternative kind of cleanser/bacterial disinfectant since its not likely that i will be able to keep a bandage on him for long. As you say, you dont want the dog to lick the neosporin.

    I dont have much experience with this kind of injury. What i am hoping for is, with some encouragement and help, is for the dewclaw to reposition itself to its original position. What i am unclear about is how it will resolve… how can a new nail grow if the old one is still in its place ?

    If you have any reassurance to offer i would be grateful !
    Best regards,
    Nicole & Merlin

  12. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Hello Nicole and Merlin;
    Sounds like Merlin did a real number on his nail.
    It’s been 8 days since and I apologize for this delay.
    How is he?
    Since you said that the blood was little, I am assuming that it is just the nail and not the dew claw itself that has torn.
    I understand that Merlin being a trickster, it is impossible to keep a bandage on.
    The bandaging is to keep the nail in place. Without a bandage I would keep Merlin’s activity to a minimum.
    Merlin’s nail has likely fallen off at the break by now. That is how a new nail with quickly grow in place.
    Once the nail has been broken like that it is not going to go back into place because it is broken. Like if we break a nail but is still attached.
    Since it has been a week, if where the nail broke is still attached, it would of already began to grown out some.
    Usually it will just fall off, at the break naturally but if it hasn’t you can easily just clip the broken part off for him so that it doesn’t get caught on anything or cause Merlin any more pain.
    Usually bandaging is on for a week. By that time the nail has grown out enough to clip the dead broken part of the nail or it will of just fallen off at the break itself.
    You are right that we don’t want the dog to lick neosporin.
    I trust that Merlin is well on the mend by now.
    Let me know what’s up if you have further concerns and thank you for stopping by.
    Best to you Nicole and Merlin.
    CC

  13. Nicole Planchon replied:

    Hello and what timing you have as we are celebrating this very morning with extra treats.

    Firstly i must say that i thought the whole nail was called a dew claw but given your note- it sounds like that is not the case. It was the nail itself that bent and cracked. Not all the way down but pretty far down.

    We did manage to bandage initially but that didnt last long. Merlin is almost 10yrs old and had a rough puppyhood with some physical issues- as a consequence he is rather hypersensitive. Easier to handle now but dealing with nails is impossible for a type like him. We are grateful that his nails remain naturally short. with the exception of that one dewclaw, of course. BIG sigh.

    Yes indeed, i kept his activity minimal for that first week and then the following Monday his claw bent out again. A little blood. We kept it clean throughout this time period- many several times a day- applying a dropper full of colloidal silver in the crack which was also safe for him to lick.

    We could see the nail ‘dying’ back and one week later the nail had a crack almost all the way around it. By Tuesday the nail seemed soft and sure enough by late afternoon, the nail was bent back and it looked hollow going out and on the inside where it should be… there was a new little sprout of a nail growing.

    Merlin diligently licked it to keep it clean and the moisture helped to release the last of the old nail during the night and we found his old nail lying on the bed looking like a neglected thing the faeries forgot to take.

    What a relief !!! and we learnt a lot thru this process too and thanks to your blog post- didnt rush him to the vet for drama or trauma, which is very important for both Merlin and I.

    Should anyone be interested in working with homeopathic remedies- Hypericum is the remedy to work with. That’s the one for smushed /injured toes, feet, nails and also for nerve pain. I gave him 200c initially and then on a couple other occasions we followed with 30c Hypericum.

    THANKS a million for posting and taking the time to reply !
    best regards to you and your ‘pups’
    xo
    Nicole and Merlin

  14. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Dear Nicole and Merlin;
    Just a quick note. Glad that all is well with Merlin now.
    When it is your first experience of a broken dew claw nail it can be quite scarey and worrisome.
    It usually takes a week for the nail to either grown out enough to clip it or for the nail to just fall off at the break.

    As a promoter of Holistic Health Care for Pets, there are times however that we need traditional veterinary intervention but personally I’d much rather treat my pets at home and naturally when possible. So thank you for the tip on the St. Johns Wort. It can be a real pain if grown in the wrong area but is useful for so many things!

    For the same reasons as you I try to avoid any veterinary intervention as much as possible and do so mostly by preventative measures. Dew claw nail breaking is often unavoidable. Even when the nails are kept trim. It can just happen and I have found can be for different reasons. I owe my help to others on this subject to a veterinary assistant that the first time my dog broke her dew claw nail I was in as much pain, so concerned for my dog. The assistant, via online through a social site I hang out with came to the rescue. I did exactly what she said and it worked. That is why I passed it on to anyone else with the same problem.

    Let it be known however that when I talked to the vet clinic they advised to bring my dog in for x-rays. I wonder if they would of found the problem before going to such extreme measures? In any case I was so pleased to find the solution and be able to help my dog.
    When all the bandaging was done do you know my little dog looked up at me and gave me a big kiss. Almost brings tears to my eyes with joy that she was so pleased to feel way better now that she was cleaned up and attended to. A sweet little girl.

    I understand that Merlin isn’t one for bandages and fair enough but will mention that the idea of the bandage as well is to keep the nail in proper place more than anything, so that the dog can resume somewhat regular activity, short of racing around and jumping off of things, without further pain. It seems that when the bandage is holding the nail in place while it grows out, it avoids the dog from putting pressure on an otherwise bent out nail, which would be easy to do.

    NOTE: For anyone thinking about treating their animals at home with homeopathic medicines to do your research first. Talk to a holistic vet if you can because you don’t want to start dosing your pets with herbal tinctures and such thinking they are 100% safe to do so as the amounts and particular combinations can be beneficial but if you get it wrong you could be doing more harm than good. So know your stuff before treating your pets at home with herbal or traditional medicine.

    Nicole, feel free to reiterate.

    Thanks for stopping by and I am so glad to read that Merlin is back in business without incident.
    Take Care.
    CC

  15. Nicole Planchon replied:

    Gosh… where to begin ?

    We take no offense whatsoever for your carefully worded response… however, we wish to explain further our situation & to correct some misperceptions about homeopathy:

    1- we live remote up in the mountains at some distance from vet clinics therefore we use homeopathy as an effective tool to self care and treat our animals.

    2- we grew up with and trained in homeopathy

    3- homeopathic remedies are not herbal tinctures

    4- homeopathic Hypericum is not equal to an herbal St John Wort, although it is made from St Johns Wort

    5- giving the wrong homeopathic remedy does NO HARM whatsoever. these are not drugs with adverse effects.

    6- Giving the right homeopathic remedy at a higher than needed potency, however, can exascerbate the situation. Knowing your stuff is absolutely important.

    6- The last time one of my dogs went to the vet clinic for an x-ray they sedated him. When they used the reversal drug to wake him up- they dosed him wrong and he went into anophelectic shock. THAT is what drove me to study homeopathic care at the SF school. Vet clinics and allopathic medicine has many more draw backs then most are willing to admit. just sayin’

    We are most grateful for posting about your self care knowledge about your dog care- it saved us a unecessary trip to the vet and reduced stress on our family. I subscribe and support appropriate care of our companion animals- be it with holistic or allopathic means.

    Thank you :)
    Nicole

  16. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Thank you for reiterating Nicole. Appreciate your response. I concur regarding why you took to homeopathic remedies. All the Best. CC

  17. Chris replied:

    my little baby just broke her dew claw 5 minutes ago. Thank your very much for your advise. This is the second time she has broken the same dew claw. The first time I took her to the vet and it cost me $700.00 for them to remove it, but it grew back. So thank you very much, didn’t want to put her thru that again being all drugged up.

  18. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Hi Chris; Thanks for stopping by. Sorry to hear about your baby. I know how distressing this can be.
    Let me know if I can be of any elp further. Best of luck to you both. Within a week she should be all better.
    CC

  19. email marketing opt in replied:

    fantastic submit, very informative. I ponder why the other specialists of this sector do not realize this.
    You must proceed your writing. I am confident, you’ve a great readers’
    base already!

  20. Ann replied:

    My sweet baby, Kaci, a 7yo 42lb lab/chow experienced a fractured dew claw a couple nights ago. Of course, this happened around midnight so I couldn’t take her to her regular vet. Her foot slipped off the edge of the couch and her dew claw got snagged. I didn’t know what had happened at first nor why she was holding her left paw up in the air. Didn’t see any initial bleeding. I scooped her up and carried her to the bed and noticed I was stepping in something wet, that turned out to be pools of blood which freaked me out worse. I inspected her paw and found her dew claw was twisted at an angle opposite of how it should be and she was very adamant that I not mess with it too much. I soaked a paper towel with some hydrogen peroxide and dabbed it as best I could, went online and found a 24hr pet clinic and immediately took her in. They removed the dew claw, bandaged her up and gave her some antibiotics as a precautionary measure. After hearing what some people had paid to have something like this taken care of, I feel that the $250 it cost me was quite reasonable. If this happens again, I’m pretty sure I’d do the same thing just because I’d rather leave it to the professionals who can administer a shot to numb the area and limit my baby’s pain as well as prescribe antibiotics to fight infection.

  21. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Wow. It sounds like Kaci had experienced a really bad break. Pools of blood Ann? I would not of hesitated to get my dog into the vet no matter what time it was if damage to any part of her was resulting in pools of blood, that is absolutely for sure. I understand your point.
    How is she now?

  22. effectivedoghandling replied:

    Well thank you!
    Actually when I was at the vet with my dog for an unrelated reason, it so happened my dog had just broke her dew claw nail again so it was all bandaged when she went in for her appointment.
    The vet and I actually discussed the issue about the dew claw nails breaking. Thankfully I have a vet who is upfront and to the point. He explained my options as well as what all is involved with the removal of the entire dew claw nail.
    So they are privy to the issue I believe. Thing is because what a vet charges is not regulated, who knows what some people may run into and to what the vet may advise them.
    All I’m saying is that of course the vet isn’t going to tell you to clean, secure and bandage and change every two days. They Want you to take your pet into the clinic, naturally. It’s business and probably to most vets, assume it is to the pets best interests to go in to the clinic for a broken nail. Unless my dog has severe bleeding as a result of a broken nail, which can happen, I simply clean it up, inspect, secure and bandage. I change the bandaging every two days and by the 7th day, the nail is either broken right off and gone or it has grown out far enough to snip off without causing any distress or further pain to the dog.
    Thanks again for stopping by and for your nice comments.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

